Sponsored by Henry T. and Elizabeth Segerstrom Foundation
Additional support from the Segerstrom Foundation
Additional support for the Royal Philharmonic generously provided by the Colburn Foundation

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, music director
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin

DEBUSSY (orch. by Ravel): Danse
MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64

Music Director Vasily Petrenko leads the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra on an evocative musical journey through Rimsky-Korsakov's nautical and imaginative Scheherazade in the first concert of their Orange County residency.

Anne Akiko Meyers is one of the world’s most esteemed violinists whose playing has been described as a national treasure by the San Diego Union-Tribune. Having regularly performed around the worlds as a soloist with leading orchestras, Anne is no stranger to the big stage. She will join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra to enchant audiences with Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto.

As the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) celebrated its seventy-fifth anniversary in 2021, it continues its mission to enrich lives through orchestral experiences that are uncompromising in its excellence and inclusive in its appeal. As one of the UK’s foremost cultural ambassadors, the RPO, under Petrenko’s direction, strengthens its international touring programs across the USA, Europe, the Middle East and Asia.