Sponsored by Donna L. Kendall Foundation
Additional support from the Segerstrom Foundation

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor
Haochen Zhang, piano

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73 ("Emperor")
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World"

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, makes its debut in Orange County, led by the second woman in history to lead a major American orchestra, Nathalie Stutzmann, and joined by award-winning pianist Haochen Zhang.

Nathalie Stutzmann began her role as The Philadelphia Orchestra’s principal guest conductor with the 2021–22 season. She made her Philadelphia Orchestra conducting debut in 2016. She is also in her first season as music director of the Atlanta Symphony, only the second woman to lead a major American orchestra, and her fifth season as chief conductor of the Kristiansand Symphony in Norway.

Since his gold medal win at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Haochen Zhang has captivated audiences in the United States, Europe, and Asia with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination, and spectacular virtuosity. In 2017, Haochen received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, which recognizes talented musicians with the potential for a major career in music.