Haydn: String Quartet Op. 33 #5
Hans Krasa: Theme and Variations for String Quartet 1935/36
Erwin Schulhoff: Five Pieces for String Quartet 1923
Schumann: Piano Quintet in E flat Major, Op.44

Jakub Fišer, violin
Štěpán Ježek, violin
Jiří Pinkas, viola
Štěpán Doležal, violoncello

“The Bennewitz Quartet is downright wonderful, with a perfect balance of warmth and objective clarity” – Gramophone

“Arsentiy Kharitonov’s display of dazzling technical fireworks, sumptuous tone, broad dramatic range, and elegant phrasing places him among the great keyboard players today.” - The New York Observer

Founded in 1998 in Prague, the Bennewitz Quartet was named after the famous Czech violinist and teacher Antonin Bennewitz (1833-1926). They established their international reputation by winning two leading chamber music competitions: the Osaka (2005) and the Premio Paolo Borciani (2008).

Since then, the group has brought its richly differentiated sound culture and interesting programming to numerous festivals and major venues across the globe, as well as being the ensemble-in residence for the Czech Philharmonic, performing in Prague’s Dvorak Hall.

Known for their “drama, expression, and utmost sensitivity” (The Strad ), along with their natural musicianship and high intelligence, the ensemble has been champions of Czech music, including works by neglected composers such as Reicha, Haas, Ullmann, and Schulhoff.

Joining them for this performance is pianist and composer Arsentiy Kharitonov. Known for his technical mastery and broad dramatic range, this remarkable artist won the Franz Liszt International Piano Competition and the Rachmaninoff Competition.