Inspired by the charm and beauty of Italy, each work on this program reveals a different perspective on the “Bel Paese” (“beautiful county”). Stravinsky and Musgrave both provide expressive, poetic, and lyrical storytelling based on colorful commedia dell’arte characters. Tchaikovsky was based in Rome when he wrote his Piano Trio in A minor, which he dedicated to Nikolai Rubinstein, his close friend and mentor.

Enjoy delightful chamber music with host and pianist Orli Shaham and principal musicians of Pacific Symphony in the coffee-house atmosphere of the Samueli Theater.

Orli Shaham, piano
Dennis Kim, violin
Warren Hagerty, cello
Ben Smolen, flute
Clarinet to be announced
Dancers to be announced

STRAVINSKY: Suite Italienne (Selections)
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50