Pacific Symphony’s contribution to the inaugural California Festival, a treasure trove of music celebrating the Golden State’s legacy of experimentation and free-spirited artistry: The concert features a new composition by Gabriella Smith, whose work is described as “high-voltage and wildly imaginative,” along with other pieces inspired by the diversity and richness of our state.

Ludovic Morlot, guest conductor
Vadym Kholodenko, piano
Pacific Symphony

Adam Schoenberg: Canto
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 4
Gabriella Smith: Bioluminescence Chaconne
Debussy: La Mer

Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with host Alan Chapman