Discover the captivating works of Robert Schumann and Clara Schumann along with the little-known Louise Farrenc, three Romantic-era composers whose music continues to enchant audiences today. Enjoy the technical demands and emotional depth of Farrenc’s Quintet No. 1 in A minor, Op. 30, alongside the mastery of composition and piano performance showcased in Schumann’s Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 44 and Three Romances for Piano, Op. 21. These timeless pieces represent some of the greatest works of classical music and are sure to delight music lovers everywhere.

Orli Shaham, piano
Dennis Kim, violin
Meredith Crawford, viola
Warren Hagerty, cello

Clara Schumann: 3 Romances for Piano, Op. 21
Louise Farrenc: Quintet No 1 in A minor, Op. 30
– Intermission –
Robert Schumann: Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 44

About Café Ludwig: Enjoy delightful chamber music with principal musicians of Pacific Symphony in the coffee-house atmosphere of the Samueli Theater. While you sip coffee and savor decadent desserts, your gifted host, curator, and pianist Orli Shaham guides you on a journey exploring how composers influenced each other and changed the course of chamber music.