This site uses cookies and similar technologies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. By clicking "I Accept" on this banner or continuing to use this site, you are consenting to the use of cookies. For more details on how we use cookies, see our Privacy Notice.

Zhang Plays Rach 2

Presented by presented by
Venue: Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall Tickets start at $25.00


Markus Stenz, conductor
Haochen Zhang, piano
Pacific Symphony

RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
DEBUSSY: “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun”
STRAVINSKY: Suite from “The Firebird” (1945)

An evening of greatness begins with world-class pianist Haochen Zhang, who has been described by The Washington Post as having an “imagination that keeps you on the edge of your seat and breathless to hear what comes next”—a worthy challenger to Rachmaninoff’s immense Second Piano Concerto. Following are two pieces drawn from fantasy: first, Debussy sets the scene for fauns and nymphs in “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun”; next, Stravinsky transports you to a world where an evil sorcerer collides with a magical firebird.

Preview Talk with host Alan Chapman at 7 p.m. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.

Running time (approximate): 1 hour and 49 minutes

Audience Advisory:

All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Guests over the age of 18 must also bring photo ID.