This site uses cookies and similar technologies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. By clicking "I Accept" on this banner or continuing to use this site, you are consenting to the use of cookies. For more details on how we use cookies, see our Privacy Notice.

Augustin Hadelich & Orion Weiss

Presented by presented by
Venue: Samueli Theater Tickets start at $38.00


Augustin Hadelich, violin
Orion Weiss, piano

Laguna Chamber Music Series sponsored by Sam and Lyndie Ersan
Beethoven@250 sponsored by The Segerstrom Foundation

BEETHOVEN: Violin Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23
DEBUSSY: Sonata in G minor, L. 140
COLL: Hyperlude No. 5 for Solo Violin
YSAŸE: Sonata No. 6 in E major for Solo Violin
BRAHMS: Sonata No. 2 in A major, Op. 100
DEBUSSY: L'isle joyeuse, L. 106
ADAMS: Road Movies

Musical America's 2018 Instrumentalist of the Year, Augustin Hadelich has firmly established himself as one of the great violinists of today. Showcasing a wide-ranging and adventurous repertoire, he is consistently cited for his phenomenal technique, soulful approach, and beauty of tone. Hadelich is the winner of a 2016 Grammy Award–Best Classical Instrumental Solo–for his recording of Dutilleux’s Violin Concerto, L’Arbre des songes, with the Seattle Symphony under Ludovic Morlot. He is also the recipient of numerous honors, including an Avery Fisher Career Grant (2009), a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship in the UK (2011), Lincoln Center’s Martin E. Segal Award (2012), and the inaugural Warner Music Prize (2015).

One of the most sought-after soloists in his generation of young American musicians, pianist Orion Weiss has performed with the major American orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony, Boston Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and New York Philharmonic. His deeply felt and exceptionally crafted performances go far beyond his technical mastery and have won him worldwide acclaim. Weiss was named the Classical Recording Foundation’s Young Artist of the Year in September 2010 and is also a recipient of the Gilmore Young Artist Award, an Avery Fisher Career Grant, the Gina Bachauer Scholarship at the Juilliard School and the Mieczyslaw Munz Scholarship.

Program Info