American Ballet Theatre
Whipped Cream


With Pacific Symphony

Take a trip into a colorful world of delicious characters and dancing sweets in a whimsical blend of fantasy and surrealism from Artist in Residence Alexei Ratmansky and pop-surrealist visionary Mark Ryden with music by Richard Strauss.

In this full-length confection, a young boy overindulges at a Viennese pastry shop and falls into a delirium. To help the boy escape from his attending physician, the boy dreams of his triumphant rescue by Princess Praline and her court, replete with Princess Tea Flower, Prince Coffee as well as marching Marzipan, concluding in a festive celebration! As light as meringue, Richard Strauss' score is the perfect inspiration for this all-new production destined to delight ballet fans of all ages.

“The most gifted choreographer in classical ballet today,” Alastair McCauley, New York Times

Ticket holders are invited to attend a preview talk from author and ballet historian Elizabeth Kaye one hour before showtime, in the Balcony Level Lobby on Opening Night and then in Orchestra Terrace nightly.

Principal Casting for “Whipped Cream”
(Artists and program subject to change)

Wednesday, March 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Daniil Simkin (The Boy)
Stella Abrera (Princess Tea Flower)
David Hallberg (Prince Coffee)
Sarah Lane (Princess Praline)

Thursday, March 16 at 7:30 p.m.
Herman Cornejo* (The Boy)
Hee Seo* (Princess Tea Flower)
Cory Stearns* (Prince Coffee)
Cassandra Trenary* (Princess Praline)

Friday, March 17 at 7:30 p.m.
Jeffrey Cirio* (The Boy)
Isabella Boylston* (Princess Tea Flower)
Alban Lendorf* (Prince Coffee)
Skylar Brandt (Princess Praline)

Saturday, March 18 at 2 p.m.
Daniil Simkin (The Boy)
Gillian Murphy* (Princess Tea Flower)
James Whiteside* (Prince Coffee)
Sarah Lane (Princess Praline)

Saturday, March 18 at 7:30 p.m.
Herman Cornejo (The Boy)
Hee Seo (Princess Tea Flower)
Cory Stearns (Prince Coffee)
Cassandra Trenary (Princess Praline)

Sunday, March 19 at 1:00 p.m.
Jeffrey Cirio (The Boy)
Isabella Boylston (Princess Tea Flower)
Alban Lendorf (Prince Coffee)
Skylar Brandt (Princess Praline)

Sunday, March 19 at 6:30 p.m.
Daniil Simkin (The Boy)
Stella Abrera (Princess Tea Flower)
David Hallberg (Prince Coffee)
Sarah Lane (Princess Praline)

*Indicates debut in role

Running time (approximate): 1 hour and 38 minutes

Interest Tags:

Program Info