This site uses cookies and similar technologies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. By clicking "I Accept" on this banner or continuing to use this site, you are consenting to the use of cookies. For more details on how we use cookies, see our Privacy Notice.

Russian National Orchestra

Presented by presented by
Venue: Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall Tickets start at $45.00


Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

Henry T. Segerstrom Legacy Series
Sponsored by The Henry T. and Elizabeth Segerstrom Charitable Foundation

Featured artist sponsored by The Segerstrom Foundation and Shanbrom Family Foundation

Pre-concert lecture by Rich Capparela, 7pm

SHOSTAKOVICH: Festive Overture in A major, Op. 96
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44
STRAVINSKY: Suite from The Firebird (1945)

This season, the Russian National Orchestra celebrates 25 years as one of Russia’s leading ensembles and one of the world’s top orchestras (Gramophone, 2008).

Conducted by Mikhail Pletnev, the Russian program includes Shostakovich’s Festive Overture and Stravinsky’s Suite from The Firebird (1945), as well as Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44, featuring powerhouse pianist Yuja Wang in her third consecutive Philharmonic Society season.

Running time (approximate): 1 hour and 36 minutes with no intermission

Interest Tags: